To be eligible for MassHealth, you can’t have more than $2,000 in “countable” assets in your own name. Countable assets basically include everything except for the following exempt assets:
1. Personal possessions, such as clothing, furniture, and jewelry
2. Your principal Massachusetts residence with up to $828,000 in equity
3. One vehicle, if used for you or your spouse
4. A designated funeral fund (up to $1,500) for you, or a prepaid funeral fund (typically limited to about $9,000)
5. A life insurance policy worth up to $1,500, and
6. Other assets considered inaccessible under the law.
MassHealth covers the care of nursing home residents whose non-exempt “assets” are below the limits set by the state. In Massachusetts, that limit is currently $2,000 for a nursing home resident, and $119,220 for his or her spouse. This spousal exemption is called the Community Spouse Resource Allowance (“CSRA”) and is intended to prevent the spouse living at home from becoming impoverished as a consequence of their spouse’s long-term care needs.